This more formal and masculine room was also the most publicly viewed room.
Daily tours of the Manor House provide a unique opportunity to admire the grandeur and craftsmanship of coastal plantation living.
The Manor House at Poplar Grove was built by a few skilled slaves descended from the Foy family through the Gullah Geechee traditions of pre-revolutionary slaves brought down from Onslow County through the marriages of prominent Revolutionary War families in New Bern, including Colonel Henry Rhodes and Captain James Foy, Sr.
It is this journey of sons and daughters, masters and slaves, that led Joseph Mumford Foy, grandson of Captain James Foy, Sr., to construct his own family home and plantation compound with the trade and agricultural skills of his male slaves, in particular.
Upon completion, Joseph Mumford Foy took out an insurance policy on his newly constructed house and kitchen on April 25, 1853.
In the summer of 2013, the “double piazzas” on the back of the Manor House were completely replaced, including new beams, flooring, posts, and columns as well as a new back staircase, which also had to be replaced.